Preaching

The Proclamational Leader A Seminar for Working Pastors

Author
John Currie
Abstract
This project proposes that a substantial cause of ineffectual preaching stems from the failure to integrate the essential pastoral functions of preaching and leadership in pastoral practice. The project seeks to address the problem by presenting a seminar that equips pastors to integrate best practices in preaching and leadership. To ascertain these practices the author studied the biblical and theological foundations of preaching and leadership and historic and contemporary voices in the tradition of Reformed Presbyterianism and Westminster Theological Seminary. The results of the study are presented as perspectives essential to the preacher-leader's identity and best practices in both preaching and leadership.

Missional preaching: the role and work to mobilize a church to a place of missional engagement

Author
Charles B Kuthe
Abstract
Mission Preaching serves as a philosophy that governs an approach to church health. The basis for the research project was to both qualitatively and quantitatively discover if preaching has a measurable impact on a congregation's engagement in missions. The researcher conducted a presurvey and two postsurveys in conjunction with an eight week preaching series on "God's Heart for the World" to identify the impact of preaching on the church's existing involvement in missions. The conclusion showed a substantial increase in missional engagement after the sermon series was completed.

Enhancing the project director's strategic preaching skills at Chicopee Baptist Church, Gainesville, Georgia

Author
Darin Lewis Vogt
Abstract
The purpose of this project was to enhance the project director's skills in preparing and delivering strategic sermons at Chicopee Baptist Church, Gainesville, Georgia. This project involved both research and ministry in following a skills-enhancement model. Research focused on the purpose, preparation, and delivery of strategic sermons. From the research, ten common components of strategic sermons were identified and utilized in the formulation of a strategic sermon study guide and strategic sermon template. To conclude the project, the project director preached the series of strategic sermons employing the strategic sermon study guide and sermon template; thereby, representing an increase in his knowledge and skills in strategic preaching. At key points during the course of the project, the project director enlisted experts, practitioners, and church members to asses, evaluate, and critique the adequacy of his research and the project director's preaching skills in delivering strategic sermons.

Preaching like the Prophets: An Evaluation of the Hebrew Prophets as Examples for the Practice of Pastoral Preaching

Author
Robert A Carlson
Abstract
The author demonstrates that the Hebrew prophets are helpful examples for pastoral preaching. Part I evaluates exegetical evidence and Old Testament studies literature to show continuity between prophets and preachers. Both are essentially messengers of God, apply past redemption and future hope to contemporary issues, and minister by the power of the Holy Spirit. Part II compares recent rhetorical analysis of the prophets' oracles to current literature on the practice of homiletics. The prophets intentionally captured attention, used rhetorical devices to enhance persuasive effect, exemplified oral clarity, spoke relevantly, and used specific examples and object lessons.

Preaching To Effect Ministry Development

Author
Reginald Jones
Abstract
Participation in the church fluctuates at times creating a shortfall of volunteers. In this project, the author proposes that intentional and effective preaching can affect ministry development that results in greater involvement in church-sponsored ministries by members of the congregation. The purpose of this project is to explore preaching that engages the whole body of believers in a way that people hear and respond to the good news by participating in the life of the church.

The deacon preacher: bringing the four dimensions of formation to the pulpit

Author
Edward P Munz
Abstract
Diaconal formation often consists primarily of academic coursework that strengthens the intellectual dimension; however, the human, spiritual, and pastoral formation of candidates for ordination remains more understated. Qualitative research supports the fact that when the preacher is formed to understand the ministry of preaching as a gift from God that demands an investment of the whole person, the assembly is drawn into a deep relationship with the Risen Christ, which in turn fosters a desire for conversion of heart. Good and effective preaching is an invitation to dwell within the word, inviting a loving relationship with God and neighbor.

Preaching as a healing act: a model for priest, ministers, and chaplains at nursing homes and assisted-living facilities.

Author
Celestine O Obidiegwu
Abstract
We observe the provision of pastoral care to the sick, suffering, and aged as a fundamental part of the mission of the Church, grounded on the ministry of Jesus as recorded in the Scripture. It discusses not only the elderly population demographics in the U.S., but also the necessity for ongoing provision of preaching and ministry to them. It examines the current literature and position of the Church on the provision of pastoral care at nursing homes and assisted-living facilities. We also explores different biblical responses to the ongoing mystery of suffering, sickness, aging, and healing. How did some biblical characters grapple with their suffering? How did they perceive the goodness of God in the face of it? This chapter provides an in-depth analysis of the genre and theological, contextual, and historico-cultural background of some biblical texts concerning suffering, aging, and healing. We will demonstrate the Church's understanding and renewal of preaching in the last fifty years through a review of current literature and official documents of the Church. Though this review will reflect the perspective of the Catholic Church, this chapter also offers an overview of what constitutes Christian preaching and what its rich history, renewal, and methodology have to offer the Christian Church in general. We examine the current practices and ministry of preaching at nursing homes and assisted-living facilities. A review of current literature on preaching to the elderly population enriched the understanding of what it means to preach an effective homily to them. Chapter Five demonstrates a four-part workshop that will aid chaplains and ministers to be more effective preachers to the target population. This workshop attempts to answer the question, "What constitutes effective preaching with which residents of nursing homes and assisted-living facilities can connect?"

Sanctification and our inner dialogue: the application of scripture to our self-talk

Author
Paul S Hawkes
Abstract
This project investigated the importance of the sanctification of our inner dialogue referred to as self-talk. A comprehensive summary of the biblical data revealed the importance of this practice, and formed the basis for its theology. To illustrate the need for self-talk and to cultivate its practice, a seven-week sermon series was delivered drawing from biblical data. The preaching of the Word effectively confirmed that our inner dialogue matters to God. The series also demonstrated how our self-talk could be sanctified.

Imagine that: demystifying the imagery of biblical apocalypse for the twenty-first century preacher

Author
Susan M Arnold
Abstract
The author researched whether preachers in Pines Presbytery would more readily preach from apocalyptic texts if they could demystify its imagery and find modern parallels that effectively communicated the ancient texts in today's audiences. To argue this thesis, the established the biblical/theological foundations of inspiration and scripture, genre, preaching, and imagination. She surveyed literature that addressed the different genres of biblical literature, imaginative biblical literature and preaching, and the specific genre of biblical apocalypse. She developed and carried out a project designed to test this thesis, finding the Pines Presbytery preachers are under-aware of biblical apocalyptic literature.

Enhancing the project director's skill in crafting end delivering sermon conclusions at FishHawk Fellowship Church, Lithia, Florida

Author
David A Whitten
Abstract
The purpose of this project was to enhance the project director's skill in crafting and delivering sermon conclusions at FishHawk Fellowship Church in Lithia, Florida. The projector director researched and identified the common elements of effective conclusions in sermons and public speeches. Once identified, the project director developed and preached a six-part sermon series incorporating the common elements of effective conclusions. To ensure skill enhancement, the project director solicited feedback from a selected group of members of FishHawk Fellowship Church via a sermon feedback form. Two experts in the field of preaching also evaluated the sermon series.
Subscribe to Preaching