Clergy--Training

A Phenomenology of Authentic Leadership

Author
Joshua James Tilley D.Min.
Abstract
Objective: To grasp the characteristics and essence of authentic leadership as seen and experienced through the lives of those who have served under and/or over those they perceive and identify as “authentic” or “high quality” leaders.

Method: A literary review and a biblical review were conducted to establish the current scholarship related to authentic leadership. A new phenomenological study was conducted in October of 2018. 12 individuals were interviewed either in person, by phone, or via a video chat.
Results: The result was a literary study, a biblical review, and a new phenomenological study of authentic leadership.

Conclusions: Through the phenomenology and subsequent qualitative research, the researcher came to the conclusion that authentic leadership is provided, felt, and acted upon in different ways by different people in different cultures, but the one universal essence of authentic leadership is the paradox of “relief” and “peace” preceded by a sense of “anxiety” and “pressure,” which is provoked within the follower by the leader. Trust is built through the process.
A model of existential peace is offered to demonstrate this meaning, but no model for creating an authentic leadership is presented as a phenomenology does not provide the groundwork needed to establish such a theory. All cultures represent leadership in different ways, so further research would need to be conducted to create such a model.

Preaching Post-Disaster: An Examination of Preaching and Preachers in the Aftermath of Hurricane Harvey

Author
Trent Henderson D.Min.
Abstract
Preaching in a post-disaster context is one of the most challenging assignments for a pastor. Throughout the Scriptures and history, there are multiple examples of those who were called to that challenging and lonely task. This project developed a framework for preaching in the post-disaster context, based on analysis of sermons preached on the Sunday following the 2017 landfall of Hurricane Harvey in Texas and interviews of the pastors who preached those sermons. This project also includes analysis and synthesis of data from surveys. As part of the framework constructed, suggested sermon outlines are included for preachers facing this daunting task.

Positioning an international partner Lutheran church seminary for accreditation : a critical analysis of a proposed procedure for the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ghana Lutheran Seminary, Ghana, West Africa

Author
Steven R. Schumacher
Abstract
There is both a need and interest in attaining accreditation for theological education programs by Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod partner church seminaries in Africa. By means of a critical analysis a proposed procedure for The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ghana (ELCG) Lutheran Seminary was prepared by the author. He assessed the current student population and ELCG ordained pastors through means of tracking GPAs, personal interviews, surveys and questionnaires to discover academic and cultural needs in preparing for the pastoral ministry. Through his discoveries, the author presents a theological basis for the rationale to acquire accreditation through an African independent Christian association.

Pastors developing their congregants through nurturing leadership

Author
Jean-Jude Lors
Abstract
As the literature suggests, pastors, as church leaders, spend more time administering. Nurturing leadership is needed in order to develop and grow congregants. The purpose of this study was to investigate how senior pastors develop their congregants through nurturing leadership. Research questions: How do senior pastors develop their congregants in spiritual renewal, spiritual gifts? The challenges that they face and the benefits gain. Eight pastors were interviewed, using a qualitative semi-structured format, and data was analyzed using the constant comparative method. Using nurturing leadership pastors renew, transform, grow and develop their congregant spiritual gifts. Pastors also become effective leaders.

The Impact of Personality Training on Lay Leadership

Author
Young-Jun Kim
Abstract
The purpose of the project was to strengthen the lay leadership of the Korean church through a character training program. The right character for Christians was assessed from the nine fruits of the Spirit as mentioned in Galatians 5:22-23, from which a weekly training program was actualized using lectures and sharing in small groups. Project results showed that the character of trained lay leaders showed improvements manifested in the leadership. The author hopes and expects that the lay leadership can be set on the right path through character training, in order to establish a healthier Korean church.

Equipping the next generation to share the Gospel

Author
Carney A Lucas
Abstract
This project seeks to provide a contextualized method to train and equip Christians to share their faith. They will get biblical foundation for evangelism and be equipped wiht tools to know how to share the Gospel and best position themselves to share the Gospel. The goal of this project is to provide a resource for pastors and churches looking for effective, relivant ways to train and equip the next generation of Christians.

A Contextual Biblical Oral Curriculum for the Training of Illiterate and Semi-Literate Pastors in Malawi

Author
Roy Nantoka
Abstract
The author researched if the illiterate and semi-literate pastors of Malawi could biblically be trained by means of an indigenous oral educational system already existent in their societies. The question he asks in this research is: Should those who are answering an apparent divine call to the ordained ministry and seek biblical training first be required to learn reading and writing before matriculation? The researcher persuasively argues that employing indigenous means of oral training is adequate to biblically train the illiterate pastors of Malawi.

The Proclamational Leader A Seminar for Working Pastors

Author
John Currie
Abstract
This project proposes that a substantial cause of ineffectual preaching stems from the failure to integrate the essential pastoral functions of preaching and leadership in pastoral practice. The project seeks to address the problem by presenting a seminar that equips pastors to integrate best practices in preaching and leadership. To ascertain these practices the author studied the biblical and theological foundations of preaching and leadership and historic and contemporary voices in the tradition of Reformed Presbyterianism and Westminster Theological Seminary. The results of the study are presented as perspectives essential to the preacher-leader's identity and best practices in both preaching and leadership.

Mentoring Associate Ministers to a State of Spiritual Fitness

Author
Eric Richardson
Abstract
The context consists of associate ministers in the contiguous United States. The purpose is to determine if the presence of a mentoring program is beneficial and to ascertain the spiritual fitness of associate ministers. Mentoring is one of the treatments for this problem. The hypothesis is that associate ministers are often untrained, and unprepared to ascertain their call to ministry, if they are prepared, trained and mentored they will be more effective in their call to ministry. A quantitative research method will be used involving surveys. The treatment will consist of a spiritual training regimen developed for the associate minister.

Increasing the Leadership Core Participation in the Church by Training, Mentoring, and Serving Others

Author
Paul M Stumpf
Abstract
This project sought to solve the deficit of members who are equipped for core leadership positions at Colton Community Church. The purpose of this project was to develop a system for ongoing training of qualified lay members in the church who could move into various core ministries. The project consisted of eight Leadership Training seminars geared to prepare prospective leaders to assume leadership responsibilities. Pre-and post-surveys and project objectives were used for evaluating the project. The project resulted in the majority of participants volunteering for core leadership positions in the church and supported the need for continual leadership development.
Subscribe to Clergy--Training