Clergy--Training

Positioning an international partner Lutheran church seminary for accreditation : a critical analysis of a proposed procedure for the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ghana Lutheran Seminary, Ghana, West Africa

Author
Steven R. Schumacher
Abstract
There is both a need and interest in attaining accreditation for theological education programs by Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod partner church seminaries in Africa. By means of a critical analysis a proposed procedure for The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ghana (ELCG) Lutheran Seminary was prepared by the author. He assessed the current student population and ELCG ordained pastors through means of tracking GPAs, personal interviews, surveys and questionnaires to discover academic and cultural needs in preparing for the pastoral ministry. Through his discoveries, the author presents a theological basis for the rationale to acquire accreditation through an African independent Christian association.

Pastors developing their congregants through nurturing leadership

Author
Jean-Jude Lors
Abstract
As the literature suggests, pastors, as church leaders, spend more time administering. Nurturing leadership is needed in order to develop and grow congregants. The purpose of this study was to investigate how senior pastors develop their congregants through nurturing leadership. Research questions: How do senior pastors develop their congregants in spiritual renewal, spiritual gifts? The challenges that they face and the benefits gain. Eight pastors were interviewed, using a qualitative semi-structured format, and data was analyzed using the constant comparative method. Using nurturing leadership pastors renew, transform, grow and develop their congregant spiritual gifts. Pastors also become effective leaders.

The Impact of Personality Training on Lay Leadership

Author
Young-Jun Kim
Abstract
The purpose of the project was to strengthen the lay leadership of the Korean church through a character training program. The right character for Christians was assessed from the nine fruits of the Spirit as mentioned in Galatians 5:22-23, from which a weekly training program was actualized using lectures and sharing in small groups. Project results showed that the character of trained lay leaders showed improvements manifested in the leadership. The author hopes and expects that the lay leadership can be set on the right path through character training, in order to establish a healthier Korean church.

Equipping the next generation to share the Gospel

Author
Carney A Lucas
Abstract
This project seeks to provide a contextualized method to train and equip Christians to share their faith. They will get biblical foundation for evangelism and be equipped wiht tools to know how to share the Gospel and best position themselves to share the Gospel. The goal of this project is to provide a resource for pastors and churches looking for effective, relivant ways to train and equip the next generation of Christians.

A Contextual Biblical Oral Curriculum for the Training of Illiterate and Semi-Literate Pastors in Malawi

Author
Roy Nantoka
Abstract
The author researched if the illiterate and semi-literate pastors of Malawi could biblically be trained by means of an indigenous oral educational system already existent in their societies. The question he asks in this research is: Should those who are answering an apparent divine call to the ordained ministry and seek biblical training first be required to learn reading and writing before matriculation? The researcher persuasively argues that employing indigenous means of oral training is adequate to biblically train the illiterate pastors of Malawi.

The Proclamational Leader A Seminar for Working Pastors

Author
John Currie
Abstract
This project proposes that a substantial cause of ineffectual preaching stems from the failure to integrate the essential pastoral functions of preaching and leadership in pastoral practice. The project seeks to address the problem by presenting a seminar that equips pastors to integrate best practices in preaching and leadership. To ascertain these practices the author studied the biblical and theological foundations of preaching and leadership and historic and contemporary voices in the tradition of Reformed Presbyterianism and Westminster Theological Seminary. The results of the study are presented as perspectives essential to the preacher-leader's identity and best practices in both preaching and leadership.

Mentoring Associate Ministers to a State of Spiritual Fitness

Author
Eric Richardson
Abstract
The context consists of associate ministers in the contiguous United States. The purpose is to determine if the presence of a mentoring program is beneficial and to ascertain the spiritual fitness of associate ministers. Mentoring is one of the treatments for this problem. The hypothesis is that associate ministers are often untrained, and unprepared to ascertain their call to ministry, if they are prepared, trained and mentored they will be more effective in their call to ministry. A quantitative research method will be used involving surveys. The treatment will consist of a spiritual training regimen developed for the associate minister.

Increasing the Leadership Core Participation in the Church by Training, Mentoring, and Serving Others

Author
Paul M Stumpf
Abstract
This project sought to solve the deficit of members who are equipped for core leadership positions at Colton Community Church. The purpose of this project was to develop a system for ongoing training of qualified lay members in the church who could move into various core ministries. The project consisted of eight Leadership Training seminars geared to prepare prospective leaders to assume leadership responsibilities. Pre-and post-surveys and project objectives were used for evaluating the project. The project resulted in the majority of participants volunteering for core leadership positions in the church and supported the need for continual leadership development.

Standing in the intersection equipping, resourcing, & mentoring young clergywoman of color

Author
Theresa S Thames
Abstract
This project develops an intervention that responds to the ways in which the intersectionality of age, gender, and race presents unique challenges for young clergywomen of color. The study utilizes autoethnography, literature reviews, and both qualitative and quantitative research to identify five core competencies that are necessary for young clergywomen of color to thrive: self-awareness, strategic thinking, leadership, balance, and cultivating relationships. Old Testament scripture and womanist theology provide a framework for the personal and professional development curriculum that can be utilized by seminaries, denominations, and other sources of theological education in the training of young clergywomen of color.

EQUIPPING SELECTED PASTORS OF BARTHOLOMEW BAPTIST ASSOCIATION, SOUTHEAST ARKANSAS WITH CHURCH REVITALIZATION SKILLS

Author
David O Mitchell
Abstract
The purpose of this project is to equip selected pastors in Bartholomew Baptist Association, southeast Arkansas, with church revitalization skills. Through a workshop, selected pastors will learn relevant skills in church revitalization discovered during the research phase of this project. An annotated bibliography will be produced to serve as the source material for the workshop. A questionnaire will be given to the pastors concerning revitalization skills prior to the start of the workshop. The workshop will assist the participants in increasing their understanding of the field of church revitalization and some of the needed skills in church revitalization. At the conclusion of the workshop, an evaluation form will be given to the workshop participants for their evaluation of the workshop.
Subscribe to Clergy--Training